Open Menu Close Menu

Campus Technology Impact Awards

The 2020 Impact Awards call for entries is now open: Find entry information here.

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 Campus Technology Impact Awards:

Category: Teaching and Learning

Kapi‘olani Community College

Project: TOPP Equivalencies
Project leads: Helen Torigoe, instructional designer; Youxin Zhang, instructional designer; and Jamie Sickel, instructional designer
Tech lineup: Adobe, Flipgrid, Loom, Padlet, ProctorU, Sakai, Screencast-O-Matic, Zoom

Fox Valley Technical College

Project: HoloDiesel
Project lead: Josh Janikowski, applications developer
Tech lineup: Autodesk, Microsoft, Unity

California State University

Project: SkillsCommons
Project lead: Gerard Hanley, assistant vice chancellor, MERLOT executive director, and SkillsCommons director
Tech lineup: Atmire, Blackboard, Microburst Learning

Category: Student Systems and Services

University of California, Merced

Project: iCare App Program
Project lead: Abraham Cereno, associate director, CatCard Office
Tech lineup: Developed in-house

Marist College

Project: Marist Universal Student Experience (MUSE)
Project lead: Edward M. Presutti, assistant director of data science and analytics
Tech lineup: Apereo, IBM, MariaDB, Red Hat, RStudio

Category: Administration

University of South Florida

Project: Persistence Committee
Project lead: Paul Dosal, vice president for student affairs & student success
Tech lineup: Civitas Learning, Ellucian, Instructure

University of Canberra

Project: UC Student 360
Project lead: Rebecca Armstrong, deputy director, projects and innovation
Tech lineup: Click Dimensions, Comm100, KingswaySoft, Microsoft, Twilio

Category: IT Infrastructure and Systems

Indiana University

Project: OmniSOC
Project lead: Tom Davis, associate vice president, information security, and executive director and chief information security officer, OmniSOC
Tech lineup: Elastic

Mohave Community College

Project: Disaster Recovery
Project lead: Mark Van Pelt, chief information officer
Tech lineup: CDW-G, Veeam, VMware

Category: Education Futurists

Louisiana State University

Project: Project Phantom
Project lead: Meagan Moore, undergraduate research scholar
Tech lineup: Autodesk, BigRep, Human Solutions, KISSlicer, Rhinoceros, Simplify3D

San Diego State University

Project: VITaL (Virtual Immersive Teaching and Learning)
Project lead: James Frazee, senior academic technology officer and director, instructional technology services
Tech lineup: Apple, Asus, Google, HTC Vive, Lenovo, Magic Leap, Meta View (formerly Meta), Microsoft, MSI, Nikon, Oculus, Ricoh Theta, Samsung

Georgia State University

Project: Digital Learners to Leaders
Project lead: Tiffany Green-Abdullah, assistant director of learning community development
Tech lineup: Angular, Arduino, HTC Vive, IBM, Raspberry Pi, Reallusion

The 2019 Impact Awards winners will be featured in our October/November issue and in in-depth online profiles over the coming months.

Entries are reviewed by our Impact Awards Judging Committee of higher ed tech leaders, many of whom are former Campus Technology award winners. Final winners are selected by our expert team of editors. The 2020 CT Impact Awards call for entries will begin Oct. 22, 2019.

Questions? E-mail [email protected].