Open Menu Close Menu

Annual Awards | Feature

2012 Innovators Awards

We shine a light on 10 institutions that are models of technology innovation on campus.

Illustration by Ryan Etter

It's our pleasure to announce the 2012 Campus Technology Innovators: These IT leaders have deployed extraordinary technology solutions to meet campus challenges. We also recognize the vendors and products involved in making these innovative projects a success.

Higher One is the official sponsor of the 2012 CT Innovators Awards.

Out of 354 total entries, we had 10 winners in five categories: Teaching and Learning; Leadership, Governance, and Policy; Student Systems and Services; Administrative Systems; and IT Infrastructure and Systems. Although we did receive submissions in the Education Futurists category, the judges elected not to name a winner this year.

We heartily thank the members of our Innovators Judging Committee (see "Meet the Judges," below), as well as all who submitted nominations this year.

To read our profiles of this year's award winners, see the navigation bar at the top left of this page.

Meet the Judges

As part of the evaluation process for the Campus Technology Innovators award program, entries were reviewed by our Innovators Judging Committee, a group of higher ed tech leaders, many of whom are former Innovators themselves. Final winners were chosen by our team of editors.

Jill Albin-Hill
Dominican University (IL)

Keith Bailey
Director, e-Learning Institute
Penn State University

Josh Baron
Senior Academic Technology Officer
Marist College (NY)

Judith V. Boettcher
Consultant, Author, and Analyst
Designing for Learning

Edward Chapel
VP for IT
Montclair State University (NJ)

Ronald Danielson
Vice Provost for Information Services and CIO
Santa Clara University (CA)

John Ittelson
Professor Emeritus
California State University, Monterey Bay
Director, Communication, Collaboration, and Outreach
California Virtual Campus

Ruki Jayaraman
Dean, College of Undergraduate Studies
Argosy University

Kamran Khan
Vice Provost for Information Technology
Rice University (TX)

James Maraviglia
Assistant VP for Admissions, Recruitment, and Financial Aid
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Gerry McCartney
VP for IT & CIO, Olga Oesterle England Professor of Information Technology
Purdue University (IN)

Anna McFadden
Director, Academic Engagement and IT Governance, and Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Foundations
Western Carolina University (NC)

Pam McQuesten
Vice President for Information Resources and CIO
Occidental College (CA)

Darryn Ostrander
Institutional Effectiveness Coordinator
Darton College (GA)

Nora Reynolds
Executive Director, Division of Continual Learning
University of North Carolina, Greensboro

Alicia Russell
Director, Educational Technology Center
Northeastern University (MA)

Chetan Sankar
Professor of Management and Director, Geospatial Research and Applications Center
Auburn University (AL)

Jennifer Spielvogel
VP, Institutional Planning and Effectiveness
Cuyahoga Community College (OH)

About the Authors

Meg Lloyd is a Northern California-based freelance writer.

Kanoe Namahoe is online editor for 1105 Media's Education Group. She can be reached at [email protected].

David Raths is a Philadelphia-based freelance writer focused on information technology. He writes regularly for several IT publications, including Healthcare Innovation and Government Technology.

comments powered by Disqus