Open Menu Close Menu

Academic Research Group Bolsters Leadership Team

The Computing Research Association (CRA) has picked 16 higher education computing researchers to serve as members of its first permanent Council for the Computing Community Consortium.

The CRA was set up 30 years ago to strengthen education in the computing fields, expand opportunities for women and minorities, and improve public understanding of the importance of computing research in society. The Council is designed to provide CRA added leadership as it talks with industry participants about direction of computing research and large-scale computing research projects.

Those named to three-year terms on the Council are: Bill Feiereisen of Los Alamos National Laboratory, Susan Graham of the University of California at Berkeley, David Kaeli of Northeastern University, John King of the University of Michigan, and Peter Lee of Carnegie Mellon University.

Two year-terms will be held by Andrew McCallum of the University of Massachusetts, Beth Mynatt of the Georgia Institute of Technology, David Tennenhouse of New Venture Partners, and Dave Waltz of Columbia University.

One-year terms go to Greg Andrews of the University of Arizona, Anita Jones of the University of Virginia, Dick Karp of the University of California at Berkeley, Edward Lazowska of the University of Washington, Fred Schneider of Cornell University, Bob Sproull of Sun Microsystems, and Karen Sutherland of Augsburg College.

CRA Chairman Daniel Reed said key tasks for the council will be to help the CCC motivate the computing research community to debate long-range research challenges, build consensus around research visions, and develop the most promising visions into clearly defined initiatives.

Read More:

About the Author

David Nagel is editorial director of 1105 Media's Education Technology Group and editor-in-chief of THE Journal and STEAM Universe. A 25-year publishing veteran, Nagel has led or contributed to dozens of technology, art and business publications.

He can be reached at [email protected]. You can also connect with him on LinkedIn at or follow him on Twitter at @THEJournalDave (K-12) or @CampusTechDave (higher education).

comments powered by Disqus

Campus Technology News

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.