Online Learning | News

Online Ed Leaders Named to 2014 OLC Class of Fellows

Seven new higher ed leaders have joined the ranks of the Fellows of the Online Learning Consortium (formerly the Sloan Consortium).

The annual OLC Fellows program recognizes exceptional professional excellence in the field of online learning. The OLC Board of Directors "confers the distinction upon individual members of the Consortium who have: outstanding and extraordinary qualifications in the field of online learning; significant experience in online learning or an allied field; a record of distinguished service to OLC or the field; and extraordinary contributions or leadership in the field of online learning."

According to a press release, the following members of the OLC's 2014 Class of Fellows "have contributed to advancing quality, scale and breadth in online and blended education in areas represented by the OLC Pillars of learning effectiveness, access, faculty and student satisfaction and scale":

  • Thomas Cavanagh, University of Central Florida, recognized "for exceptional contributions to the online learning community in the areas of scholarship, assessment and administration";
  • Catheryn Cheal, San Jose State University, recognized "for visionary and courageous leadership in spearheading bold educational reform involving high-quality online programs that champion student needs";
  • Marie Cini, University of Maryland University College, recognized "for visionary contributions that have significantly advanced the field of online learning and enabled thousands of people to transform their lives and careers";
  • Gerard Hanley, California State University, Office of the Chancellor, recognized "for exceptional leadership and advancement of online learning through the development of the MERLOT repository for the international education community";
  • David Sachs, Pace University, recognized "for pioneering leadership in establishing a coalition to provide outstanding industry-driven online education to students across the globe";
  • Wayne Smutz, University of California, Los Angeles, recognized for "a career-long commitment to opening doorways of opportunity and avenues to success for non-traditional students through innovations in online learning"; and
  • Murray Turoff, New Jersey Institute of Technology, recognized "for his pioneering and visionary research in computer-mediated communications, learning management systems and the effectiveness of online learning."

Thirty-one individuals have been recognized as OLC Fellows since 2010. For more information, visit the OLC site.

About the Author

About the author: Rhea Kelly is executive editor for Campus Technology. She can be reached at

comments powered by Disqus

Campus Technology News

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.