Open Menu Close Menu

Higher Education

Association of American Universities Expands Research-Focused Mission with 6 New Members

The Association of American Universities has announced six new members: Arizona State University, The George Washington University, University of California, Riverside, University of Miami, University of Notre Dame, and University of South Florida. The invitation-only organization evaluates members for the "breadth and quality of their programs of (a) academic research and scholarship and (b) graduate education."

Member universities "earn the majority of competitively awarded federal funding for research that improves public health, seeks to address national challenges, and contributes significantly to our economic strength, while educating and training tomorrow's visionary leaders and innovators," the association said in a news announcement. The work collectively to "help shape policy for higher education, science, and innovation; promote best practices in undergraduate and graduate education; and strengthen the contributions of leading research universities to American society."

"We are very proud to have these six distinguished universities from across the United States join AAU," said AAU President Barbara R. Snyder, in a statement. "We are particularly proud that two of our new members — Arizona State and UC Riverside — are designated as Hispanic-serving institutions because significant shares of their student bodies are individuals from Hispanic backgrounds, and that UC Riverside is also an Asian American and Native American Pacific Islander-serving institution. We look forward to working with all of these universities to continue advancing higher education and laying the scientific foundation that helps keep our economy strong and our nation healthy and safe."

With the addition of the six new members, AAU has grown to a total of 71 research institutions. Recent areas of research focus include COVID-19, the opioid crisis, sustainable energy, cybersecurity, and more.

For more information, visit the AAU site.

About the Author

Rhea Kelly is editor in chief for Campus Technology, THE Journal, and Spaces4Learning. She can be reached at [email protected].

comments powered by Disqus